Skip to content ↓

Local Academy Board

Governing Body Composition

The constitution for the Local Academy Board is:

Headteacher, Co-Head of School, 2 parent governors, 1 staff governor, 1 Trust governor and 4 co-opted governors. 

The quorum shall be 3 governors or, where greater, any one-third (rounded up) of the total number of governors of the LAB.

The Local Academy Body of Temple Mill Primary School

Each governor is responsible for the monitoring of a key area of the school. Their responsibilities are listed below.

  • Barbara Fincham (Chair of Governors)
  • Lisa Lewis (Executive Head)
  • David Bignell (Co-Head of School)
  • Owen McColgan (Trust)
  • Nicola Caselton (Staff)
  • Rae Brailsford-Hart (Parent)
  • Ashley Butters (Parent)
  • Paul Chaplin (Co-opted)
  • Sue Lamb (Co-opted)
  • Wendy Rogers (Co-opted)
  • Sarah Phillipson (Clerk to Governors)

Terms of Reference for our Local Academy Board can be found here.

For details of the Members and Directors of The Howard Academy Trust please click here.


The Local Academy Board will meet at least 3 times a year and otherwise as required.

Members of the Local Academy Board will have at least seven clear days’ notice of the meeting and its agenda, except in the case of an emergency meeting.

The agenda and minutes will be produced by the Clerk to Governors and made available to all members of the Local Academy Board via GovernorHub.

A copy of the minutes, apart from confidential items, will be available in the school office for inspection by parent/carers and staff.

Name Responsibility Declaration of Business Interest Attendance ('19-'20)
Lisa Lewis (Executive Headteacher)
Appointed: 18/12/2019
  Nil 100%
David Bignell (Co-Head of School)
Appointed: 16/07/2020
  Medway Early Years: Spouse is a Manager
(from 01/09/2018)
Medway Mindfulness: Sole Trader
(from 01/01/2018)
Nicola Caselton (Staff Governor)
Appointed: 10/07/2019
  Nil 80%
Rae Brailsford-Hart (Parent Governor)
Appointed: 04/12/2015
Professional Development
Nil 100%
Paul Chaplin (Co-opted)
Appointed: 18/05/2016
Health and Safety
Staff wellbeing and professional development
Robert Napier School: Governor
(2013 - 22nd May 2018)
Barbara Fincham (Chair of Governors)
Appointed: 01/12/2015
Behaviour and Safety
Robert Napier School: Governor
(from 2006)
Featherby Infant School: Governor
Unison: Member
(from 1981)
Sue Lamb (Co-opted)
Appointed: 01/05/2018
Pupil Premium 
Medway Early Years Ltd: EYFS Consultant
Chattenden: Governing Body
St Helen C/E: Governing Body
Wendy Rogers (Co-opted)
Appointed: 05/07/2019
Pupil Behaviour 
Kent County Council: Employee 
(from 1994)
Rochester Museum: Spouse of Employee
(from 1998)
Thomas Aveling: Governor
(from 2012)
Sarah Phillipson (Clerk to Governors)
Appointed: 01/09/2019
  Nil 100%
Ashley Butters (Parent Governor)
Appointed: 01/03/2020
  Nil 40%
Owen McColgan (Accounting Officer/CEO)
Appointed: 01/09/2020
  Medway Academy of Performing Arts
(Partner from 03/01/2020)
Inspiring Change MAT
(Member from 12/12/2018)
Featherby Infants & Junior School
(Governor from 08/09/2020)

Governors Left in the Last 12 Months


All correspondence should be directed to Mrs Barbara Fincham, Chair of Governors, c/o Temple Mill Primary School