About Us


For details of the Members and Directors of The Howard Academy Trust, please click here

Chairperson of Governors:  Barbara Fincham - 01/12/2019 (contactable via the School Office)

Vice Chair of Governors: Jon Rye (Parent) – 01/12/2019

Other members:

Headteacher:        Martin McCusker

Becky Leng (Staff) – 01/12/2019

Cathy Reid (The Howard Academy Trust) – 01/12/2019

Sue Lamb  (Co-opted) – 01/12/2019 (resigned September 2017)

David Giles (Co-opted) – 18/05/2020

Tony Sales (Co-opted) – 18/05/2020

Rae Brailsford-Hart (Parent) – 01/12/2019

Paul Chaplin (Co-opted) - 18/05/2020

Clerk to Governors: Mr Geoff Rudd

We have two committees a reources and a curriculum committee,the copy of each committees first minutes containt their terms of reference.

Each Governor is responsible for the monitoring of a key area of the school

Health and Safety - Tony Sales (resources committee)

Finance - David Giles (resources committee)

Pupil Premium / Vulnerable Groups - Tony Sales (curriculum committee)

Sports Funding - Jon Rye (curriculum committee chair)

EYFS, Safeguarding, SEN Behaviour and Safety - Barbara Fincham (resources committee chair)

Performance and Curriculum - Cathy Reid (curriculum committee)

Staff wellbeing and professional development - Paul Chaplin (resources committee)

Scrutiny and professional development - Rae Brailsford-Hart (resources committee)

Curriculum and emotional wellbeing - Jon Rye (curriculum committee)

Mr McCusker attends both committees and Miss Leng serves on the curriculum committee as Staff Governor

Governing Body Composition:

Following the transfer of Temple Mill Primary School the The Howard Academy Trust, the Local Governing Body of Temple Mill Primary School came into effect from 1st December 2015.

The constitution for the governing body is:

2 parent governors, headteacher, 1 staff governor, 1 Trust governor and 3 co-opted governors. A total of 8 governors.


A minimum of 5 governors.


The full governing body will meet at least 3 times a year and otherwise as required.

Members of the governing body will have at least seven days’ notice of the meeting and its agenda, except in the case of an emergency meeting.

The agenda and minutes will be produced by the Clerk to Governors and made available to all members of the governing body via governor hub.

A copy of the minutes, apart from confidential items, will be available in the school office for inspection by parent/carers and staff, with the original signed copies in the Headteacher’s office.

Click here to see attendance at meetings of the Local Governing Body.

Click here to see Governors' Register of Business Interest

All correspondence should be directed to Mrs Barbara Fincham, Chair of Governors, c/o Temple Mill Primary School